Kitchen

This post continues with more macro, ‘still-life’ shots, this time from around the kitchen.

The large jar holds preserved lemons, used in many North African Berber recipes. The bottle was up from the basement that day because I had cooked a Moroccan tangine with them.

The snacks are olives on hummus on sesame crackers with a dash of Thai hot sauce while another photo is a good old fashioned peanut butter and jam sandwich. I made the jam: it’s cherry/peach; the seeds you see are chia seeds which I use as a thickener rather than pectin, because I like jams to be tart. (Chia seeds are also very high in full protein.) I also baked the bread, grew—and ground—the organic wheat, threw the plate on a pottery wheel and forged the knife. OK, so truth be known I just made the jam…but I really did make the jam!

The pot is my Made in the USA version of the classic French Le Creuset pot. (Works as good but is about 1/5 the price.)

Small pots which hold spices (and especially salt) are referred to as ‘pigs’ although I do not know why.

The knives are a motley set of good blades that we have gathered over the years that I try to keep razor sharp. If you are at my house and use one, be careful, they’ve a taste for fingers!

Before viewing the photographs, I would also like to invite you to visit the poetry blog, the Book of Pain. Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh.

 

Tart - preserved lemons

Tart – preserved lemons

It's what's for dinner - my made in the USA copy of the classic French Le Creuset pot

It’s what’s for dinner – my made in the USA copy of the classic French Le Creuset pot

You cracker me up - crackers/hummus/hot sauce

You cracker me up – crackers/hummus/hot sauce

Olive one, please - crackers/hummus/hot sauce

Olive one, please – crackers/hummus/hot sauce

Some bread with my jam - peanut butter and jam on whole wheat

Some bread with my jam – peanut butter and jam on whole wheat

Two pigs on a slab - salt and pepper set

Two pigs on a slab – salt and pepper set

Sharp! - well used knives

Sharp! – well used knives

All photographs and comments ©2014 by John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

2 thoughts on “Kitchen

    • Thank you so much! So did I. My wife’s response was, “You’re going to post that?!” My take was like yours, to find getting in that close interesting. I wanted to show just how much I love and use my knives.

Leave a Reply

