Christmas 2013

Some still life and exterior pictures taken during the Christmas Holiday season of 2013.

I will admit it: I have a thing for cups and mugs. The red espresso cup (there is a matching black one) is a new tradition for 2013…Lyn and I both love espresso. The “face” mugs is an even better story. While we were living in Kansas, one year I bought the female mug for Lyn and she bought the male one for me, both, separately, from the same store. We didn’t realize it until we were unwrapping them together. We now use them exclusively, but only, during the holiday season.

Before viewing the photographs, I would also like to invite you to visit the poetry blog, the Book of Pain. Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh.

Espresso yourself! - still life, Christmas Holidays, 2013

Espresso yourself! – still life, Christmas Holidays, 2013

Chocolate, caramel, fudge, pecan pie - still life, Christmas Holidays, 2013

Chocolate, caramel, fudge, pecan pie – still life, Christmas Holidays, 2014

For the benefit of Mr. Frost - still life, Christmas Holidays, 2013

For the benefit of Mr. Frost – still life, Christmas Holidays, 2013

Traditions - still life, Christmas Holidays, 2013

Traditions – still life, Christmas Holidays, 2013

Magic, magic beans - still life, Christmas Holidays, 2013

Magic, magic beans – still life, Christmas Holidays, 2013

A wreath - Pomfret, CT; Christmas Holidays, 2013

A wreath – Pomfret, CT; Christmas Holidays, 2013

Twinkle dee - Christmas Holidays, 2013

Twinkle dee – Christmas Holidays, 2013

Twinkle dum - Christmas Holidays, 2013

Twinkle dum – Christmas Holidays, 2013

Twinkle doe - Christmas Holidays, 2013

Twinkle doe – Christmas Holidays, 2013

Me and the Mrs. - still life, Christmas Holidays, 2013

Me and the Mrs. – still life, Christmas Holidays, 2013

A spoonful of coffee makes anything go down - still life, Christmas Holidays, 2013

A spoonful of coffee makes anything go down – still life, Christmas Holidays, 2013

All photographs and comments ©2014 by John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

9 thoughts on “Christmas 2013

    • Thank you so very much! The truth is (honestly) that I was waiting for the turkey to cook, everything else was ready and I was bored and restless. So to take my mind off of everything I grabbed the camera and a tripod and started taking shots at the table. I spent maybe 20 minutes at it. The exterior shots came later in an attitude of, “Can I do this?” Luck, beginner’s luck is all that I can say. 🙂

    • Well, to be honest, I’m not actually prepared to accept the title, “good.” I have seen so many really good pictures lately that I know I’m still trying to learn. Much of it is in the camera and even more of it is in the type of lens. Photography really is one of those hobbies were the quality of the equipment has an effect on the output, unlike say, music, where a better guitar doesn’t necessarily make you a better guitarist. Plus, I am and I am not a sort of rookie…I used to do a lot of photography back in College using a 35mm SLR film camera. (Boy, those were the days, we thought those things ‘complicated’…but they’re child’s play to the new DSLRs!) I only gave up on it because back then, to be a good photographer, you had to be good in the developing lab and I didn’t have the patience for that. I wanted to do color and nothing I ever took came out the way I wanted it to be, so I sold everything and quit. Then several years ago my daughter-in-law and family visited for Christmas and she had a digital camera. The instant I took it into my hands I knew I was hooked. What you are seeing now is the best that I have taken over the last few years…it will slow to a trickle soon as I get all my catalog posted.

      And anyway, John. I have seen your shots, and a lot of them are fantastic too! When did you get so good at it? 🙂

    • Well, thank you very much, Elizabeth! I confess the red tinge on the snowman and the spoon/beans shots was quite by accident. The beans came from a can the cover of which was red because the coffee is decaffeinated. When I was setting up the shots (killing time on Christmas Day, waiting for the turkey to cook) there was too much direct light shining on them so I grabbed the closest thing to hand to block the sun for the shot…you got it, the red plastic cover. It cast just enough of a shadow to color some of the shots, an affect I plan on recreating soon. If I ever get time again in my life to do some still life shots. 🙂

Leave a Reply

