Grand Canyon

While in Sedona (see here and here), we took one day to visit the Grand Canyon. Wow! It does have to be seen to be appreciated. We did not even contemplate walking from the canyon rim to the river floor (that takes 8+ hours and you better be fit and take lots of fluids with you), nor to take the famous mule ride there and back again; that death defying treat you must book a year in advance and anyway, I’d have been over the weight limit. Still, the Grand Canyon was an incredible day trip.

One other photograph (my favorite) is in the set here.

Before viewing the photographs, I would also like to invite you to visit the poetry blog, the Book of Pain. Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh.

Courage - Grand Canyon National Park, AZ

Courage – Grand Canyon National Park, AZ

The sharp edge of it - Grand Canyon National Park, AZ

The sharp edge of it – Grand Canyon National Park, AZ

Old, old, very old - Grand Canyon National Park, AZ

Old, old, very old – Grand Canyon National Park, AZ

Where there's a will - Grand Canyon National Park, AZ

Where there’s a will – Grand Canyon National Park, AZ

Underscored point - Grand Canyon National Park, AZ

Underscored point – Grand Canyon National Park, AZ

Life has layers of meaning - Grand Canyon National Park, AZ

Life has layers of meaning – Grand Canyon National Park, AZ

Freaking courage - Grand Canyon National Park, AZ

Freaking courage – Grand Canyon National Park, AZ

Face lift - Grand Canyon National Park, AZ

Face lift – Grand Canyon National Park, AZ

All photographs and comments ©2014 by John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

12 thoughts on “Grand Canyon

    • The Grand Canyon trip was fun, although I confess I wish I knew then what I know now about photography…I’d have done better I think. Still, they are good photos and a grand memory too. I’d like to have the time to trace the entire Grand Staircase of parks…I have been to Zion and Bryce Canyon, but each deserves a week or two, not the four or five days we had in total. Plus, I was not taking pictures then and would love to try my hand at capturing the glory of, say, Angel’s Landing. I need to love to be a spry 120 years old, that’s all…

      • I would love to visit all the Parks too. Not really for photography though. Just to be there. To see how the places look in the night time, or early in the morning, in summer and in winter. I don’t have the passion or ambition of landscape photographer. I simply love desert.
        So far I have been to Grand Canyon ( both rims), Moab, Lake Powell and everything in Page area, Pink Sand Dunes, Natural bridges, Monument valley, Hway 261 and 95 ( Glen canyon). This is only a little fraction of all the marvels, and I know I will never see all of them. I am happy for those who will 🙂

        • Oh yes! My son has moved to San Diego and I am trying to plan a trip out to see him, but also the wonderful collection of great parks and preserves close to him: Joshua Tree National Park (where U2 shot that album cover), the Anza-Borrego Desert Park, the Salton Sea area, a desert dunes park and the Imperial National Wildlife Preserve. Plus, I keep dreaming of Yellowstone…I have never been there but want to spend at least a week, if not two there.

          Does this mean I have to live to be 130 years old? Because the real problem is that each place often has a different look in each season, and each decidedly beautiful in their own way.

  1. Spectacular. This is one of the many places I have yet to visit. BTW, I’m off for a while observing the Lenten Season. Be Well and Take Care.

    • I hope you have a wonderful and deeply spiritual Lenten Season! This end of winter/beginning of a new crop year time is special in many religions. At this time of the year, every year, all Baha’is, for example, have our Fast, a period of 19 days when we refrain from eating and drinking from sunrise to sunset. Many people (many co-workers!) think I’m nuts (although not just for that reason) and I try, but fail to explain to them how richly rewarding such observances are.

      Again, I hope you have a very wonderful time!

Leave a Reply

