Mono Lake

Mono Lake is a large, shallow saline soda lake in Mono County, California. Having no outlet causes high levels of salts to accumulate in the lake, which results in a large brine shrimp population. As a result, Mono Lake is an important breeding and migratory spot for millions of birds.

Before viewing the photographs, I would also like to invite you to visit the poetry blog, the Book of Pain. Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh.

Stillness - Mono Lake, CA

Stillness – Mono Lake, CA

Dryness - Mono Lake, CA

Dryness – Mono Lake, CA

Sky - Mono Lake, CA

Sky – Mono Lake, CA

Mud - Mono Lake, CA

Mud – Mono Lake, CA

Crocodile - Mono Lake, CA

Crocodile – Mono Lake, CA

Rising - Mono Lake, CA

Rising – Mono Lake, CA

Wind - Mono Lake, CA

Wind – Mono Lake, CA

Grass - Mono Lake, CA

Grass – Mono Lake, CA

Hills - Mono Lake, CA

Hills – Mono Lake, CA

Sun - Mono Lake, CA

Sun – Mono Lake, CA

All photographs and comments ©2014 by John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

10 thoughts on “Mono Lake

    • Oh it is! We found it quite by accident trying to get to Yosemite. (When we got there the east entrance was closed for the winter! It took a second try to get there via the west entrance!) But worth it. Did you ever hear of Bodie State Park which is not too far from there? Well worth the trip, believe me!

    • Yes, actually there are small aquatic animals adapted to the very salty water, which is why so many birds live or stop there on their migration route. The place is neat and the reflectivity of the water amazing, although I have to say, it is all a tad rank.

    • KB,

      Actually, I used to do a lot of photography when I was in college and when I lived for several years in Africa. But I was always frustrated that I could not produce the type of shots I wanted because I didn’t have, and couldn’t afford, a darkroom. So I packed it all in (this was in the mid-80’s) and sold my camera and lens. Then, several years ago, my daughter-in-law was visiting for Christmas and she had a digital camera and put the thing in my hands for me to take a few pictures. It was lust at first touch, especially when I realized that there are no darkrooms anymore, just software, with the added bonus of no damage to the environment. (Darkroom chemicals are nasty stuff!) So I got one and have been playing with it since, learning the camera’s capabilities and the nuances of digital photography. Digital SLRs are much more complicated then the old 35mm cameras, but also so much better and a lot more fun to use then point-and-shoots.

      This is a much longer response than you were expecting (or wanted) but it’s the full answer to your question and you know me and my verbosity! Anyway, thank you for the compliment. I really am enjoying taking pictures…it has made hiking and travelling even more fun.

Leave a Reply

