Sedona – 1

Sedona is a magical area in the northern Verde Valley region of Arizona. Blessed year round with mild temperatures, it is an outdoor person’s delight: golfing, running, hiking, cycling, mountain biking and tennis are a few of the favorite activities there. It is also an arts center, boasting many fine artists of many mediums. A desert area, it is known for its red soil, which is due to its high copper content.

My only disappointment while being there was not seeing a rattlesnake. From afar.

I would also like to invite you to visit the poetry blog, the Book of Pain. Thank you for dropping by the Book of Bokeh.

Red faced - Cathedral Rock, Village of Oak Creek, AZ

Red faced – Cathedral Rock, Village of Oak Creek, AZ

Afraid to jump - Sedona, AZ

Afraid to jump – Sedona, AZ

Say it with flowers - Sedona, AZ

Say it with flowers – Sedona, AZ

Ouch! - Sedona, AZ

Ouch! – Sedona, AZ

Old, old, old - Sedona, AZ

Old, old, old – Sedona, AZ

Lonely - Sedona, AZ

Lonely – Sedona, AZ

1 percent - Sedona, AZ

1 percent – Sedona, AZ

Witnesses - Cathedral Rock, Village of Oak Creek, AZ

Witnesses – Cathedral Rock, Village of Oak Creek, AZ

Kiss the sky - Sedona, AZ

Kiss the sky – Sedona, AZ

All photographs and comments ©2014 by John Etheridge with all rights reserved; not to be used in any way without the expressed written permission of the copyright owner.

11 thoughts on “Sedona – 1

    • Sedona is one of the nicest, most magical places in the world. My only regret was not getting one picture of a wild rattlesnake. (My wife rolls her eyes when I say this, but it’s true, that was one of my goals, nuts as it may seem.)

      The high quantity of copper everywhere in the soil in that area gives the hills the most incredible red color. It is utterly unique and such a fun place to go to. I miss it just thinking about it…and I don’t even golf!

      • Rattle snake! My dream picture, but it never happened. May be for my good: I got a picture from a friend with a 8 feet long rattle snake… Don’t think I would set up a photo session for that one…

        • Ah, a kindred spirit, I can tell! Eight feet is a little long, I agree! But a cute friendly one of two to three feet…now is that too much to ask? I mean really?! Even tell-tale squiggles in the sand would have been enough. Just before I left I mentioned to a local my desire and he laughed. He had lived all his life there, hikes a lot and had never seen one in the wild, despite the fact that there is one in every 300 sq. yds and up and down every mountain! He assured me that I had been at least within several feet of several but because I wasn’t bothering them, they weren’t going to bother me. That put a sort of different perspective on it…

Leave a Reply

